On Transgendered in Ms. Universe

Sharing my thoughts on the transgendered women joining the Ms. Universe. Shared this as a comment in a thread in the Filipino Freethinkers Facebook Page.

****

This is just plain word play complicated by different definition of a woman. If Ms. Universe says the contestant should be legally recognized as a woman in the country they are representing, then we have to look how we see it.

Personally, I think I am a girl trapped in a boy’s body so that qualifies me as a trans (if of course my limited understanding of being a transgendered will not fail me). But I have to deal with the fact that I have a penis and as much as I want it to magically transform itself in a full-pledged vagina, I can’t do anything about it. My biological configuration is male and I have to deal with that. Now, should I decide to undergo a sex operation, it will not change the fact that I am biologically a man.

My point is that, there is an apparent dissonance between what we see as “genital-centric” gender designation and the way we think that gender is beyond that particular designation, but then again we have to deal with it because that is what is natural.

Let’s go back to the “legal” definition of sex. Take Philippines for example, have we legally defined what sex is? NO. Go to USA, have they an agreed definition? Still NO, and so goes in most of the countries. And I don’t think it is necessary to define what is male and female because meiosis have assigned it right away. Randomly. Leaving us with no choice. Deal with it.

I think what is proper is we go back to our chromosomes. If you have Y chromosome, then biologically you are male. Should you choose to dress as a female, act like as a female, and think as a female, you are free to do so because that is your right; but do not be too delusioned to not accept the fact that you have a Y chromosome with you and no gender re-assignment surgery can change that fact.

And in joining Ms. Universe, why not make our own. It will be better, more fabulous and more ferosh!

One thought on “On Transgendered in Ms. Universe

  1. Cool insight! I love the last paragraph! I really don’t care much about this issue. People exaggerate things. Things exaggerate people. True enough, we haven’t been one with a definition of sex, or gender, or preference. Respect is really a must in this kind of society. 🙂

Leave a Reply

