I have been practicing skepticism for a long time but seeing something like a grammatical skepticism is something new to me. That’s why I love this blog. Highly recommended to grammar nazis and those who are always terrorized by self-professed grammar scholars.

Motivated Grammar

A while ago, I had a brief online conversation with someone who had claimed that “cakes are done, people are finished”. The conversation, if it can be called such, had three exchanges: I sent a link explaining why this is distinction is utter hokum, the respondent agreed and resolved that she would not complain about it anymore, and then she tweeted another unexplained claim that something else was ungrammatical.

More recently, I found a column starting out thus:

“I’ve always had a problem with split infinitives. That is, I seem to always be guilty of writing them. My publisher […] used to always correct me. I would argue with him that the sentence doesn’t sound right when it’s grammatically correct. […] Like my former publisher, I have my own grammatical pet peeves”

Meet the new boss, same as the old boss.

These situations are one of the more frustrating types…

View original post 368 more words

Leave a Reply

