Sense and Sensibility Book Log 1

Book log is a new column in this blog where the Demented Little Boy writes about his reading experience. Let this be his own Julie/Julia Project— though he has a long history of failing Julie Powell.

I have been thinking of doing something like this since I started reading Anna Karenina. I got this idea from the editor of the book which she failed to do. I, on the other hand, failed to do so because: 1) I have no time; 2) I thought I cannot find time; and 3) I am just plain lazy.

Hopefully I can write about my Sense and Sensibility journey. Hopefully.
***

All I can say for now is that Jane Austen’s sentences are, undoubtedly, British– and when I say British I mean it has a lot of commas and a lot of commas and a lot of adverbs. Can I blame her for that? No. That’s because that must be how they speak during those times. Seriously, I am reading it with a British Accent in my mind.

But apart from the commas and the flamboyant modifiers, I honestly don’t understand anything yet. Yep, I was not paying close attention to the plot. I won’t blame the language and the sentence construction because that will make me an idiot. It’s just, the sentences are somewhat hard to read. All I know right now is that the Dashwoods left Norland for Barton Cottage due to the bitch Fanny Dashwood.

Elinor is in low with Edward Ferrars but she left him when they transferred to Barton. I shall see how this love story develops

One thought on “Sense and Sensibility Book Log 1

  1. Pingback: Sense and Sensibility Book Log 2 | Musings of a Demented Little Boy

Leave a Reply

