A Painted House Book Log 2

John Grisham is not failing me here in A Painted House. Although I would love to have a legal thriller at this time but Luke Chandler (the main character) is such a mischievous kid. You know that he is a smart kid. With his comments on his Gran, the Mexicans and the rest of the town, you know that he is not just a kid. His mischievous innocence is inspiring.

I love how he is in a middle of a conflict about religion. At one point, he criticizes the preacher for “inventing new scenes one after another” then he’s really worried about lying. Although he sees religion simply as a mere tool to make kids like him to behave, he is still enveloped under its influence. Will he be able to get through that phase? It’s highly impossible, after all, although he dreams to be out of that Arkansas town when he graduates, I believe he will be trapped their forever.

Brutal I know, but I just have that feeling. His kind of character is a good satire upon his entire environment.

PS: I’m 46% done with the novel already (that’s according to Goodreads), and I guess I will be finished with this book soon.

One thought on “A Painted House Book Log 2

  1. Pingback: Got myself a copy of Atlas Shrugged! « Musings of a Demented Little Boy

Leave a Reply

