Kilig over Flipped (2010)

Thank God we have cable! Can you freaking imagine how I will survive with intermittent– more likely, zilth!– wifi signal in our dorm. So what happened during the past few days is that I found myself in front of the TV flicking between HBO and Star Movies.

Then I bumped into Flipped (2010). The story is quite funny and interesting. It brought me back to the sweet high school days of first love’s and puppy love’s. Not only Bryan Loski (played by Callan Mc Auliffe) is cute, the developing coming-of-age story is really really amazing. (You see, I’m grappling for words here since I could not find an exact translation of the Filipino word kilig. Maybe, I shall ask Anglophonism to find a word that nearly-touches the word).

I love the narration style. It was a good effective tool to know the thoughts of the two main characters. The good thing about the movie though is that it doesn’t have much of a plot. The story line mainly focuses on the development of the two characters– knowing their motives and rationalizing their actions. (Eep, I sound pretentiously technical here.) Sometimes one needs to watch things like this– a romantic comedy taken to another level.

This is a good movie. I suggest you watch Perks of Being A Wallflower first, then watch this one right after. They seem to balance each other. (Which makes me remember that I did not share how such a mess I was watching Perks).

Leave a Reply

