An Open Letter to Julie Powell

Dear Julie Powell,

You know I am your kiss-ass fan. I love you because you changed my life three years ago just right after I watched Julie and Julia. You are such an inspiration to me and I owe you my current career. Your simple humor encourages me to move on and go forth. You are my favorite author. Whenever I am stuck I visit your old blog and suddenly inspiration flows through my attention-span-deficit mind. Every time I face sudden creative thanatos, I would always think, What will Julie do?

julie_and_julia

Did I say that I am your kiss-ass fan?

Julie Powell, I love you but I think I am hating you. No, not the abhor-sense of hate, but you make me frustrated. Although it might be quite unfair to blame this on you because I think other people are behind it, I am left with no other choice. Where the hell is Julie/Julia Project? Why did you take it down?

In times of writer’s block or just severe office boredom, that blog is my anchor and suddenly, one day, it is gone! Just like that. I didn’t even have received a note saying, “Hi there, I’m taking this down. XOXO Julie”, from you. Julie, I felt robbed– robbed of my precious little joy of reading JJP. You know I love you, and I know you will understand this frustration; but nevertheless, I am really really frustrated.

Julie, will you ever bring the JJP back again? You may be thinking of publishing it and sell it, but go ahead Julie, I’ll buy plenty of copies. Just make your entries available again. I terribly miss you Julie. I miss your humor. Please give me back my joy.

That’s my only request from you. And although I know this open letter might not reach you, I hope someone of a good heart will have this letter brought to you. I expect you to read this one and I would love to hear from you.

Hope to hear from you soon.

XOXO
Gelo

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Julie Powell

  1. Hello, I seem to have stumbled across your blog whilst searching the internet for the original Julie/Julia project blog after watching the film for the, oh, hundredth time? It’s nice to see someone with such a love for the film, concept, Ms Powell herself, etc. Anyway, I just thought I’d leave a quick comment in case you were unaware that this existed…

    http://wayback.archive.org/web/20010701000000*/http://blogs.salon.com/0001399/

    It’s pretty much all of the original blog posts, I think. Unfortunately I discovered the film long after the original blog was taken down, so I can’t vouch that they are all there. But a significant proportion of them are! Perhaps they will tide you over until a certain Ms Powell comes to her senses and makes them available again.

    Happy New Year,

    Helen x

    • HI Helen, I have checked the link you sent me and it appears that it contains the entire blog of Julie. Thank you, thank you very much for sending me the link. You are so sweet and I appreciate it a lot.

      I have read the book, watched the movie, and read the whole blog many of times. Julie Powell’s writing is such a motivation for creativity. I hope that Ms Powell will comes to her senses and have it available again officially.

      Again, thank you very much for the link and for reading my blog. Share me your thoughts about her blogposts okay? I’ll be reading them again 🙂

      XOXO, Gelo

Leave a Reply

