Listen. Then Riposte.

One of the most important lessons I learned in life is listening– or more accurately, deferring to talk until such time I have absorbed everything else. By listening, I diminish the possibility of unnecessary mistakes. By listening, I can restrain myself from giving in to unwanted emotions. It is important to defer the talking because most of the times, talking causes to escalate things into heightened emotions that could lead to more damages. I listen. I absorb. I test waters. I calculate risks.

This is why I let certain situations pass by. I let other people do the talking until such time I could speak. By then, I will have enough power to riposte.

Leave a Reply

