Almost-Worst-New-Year Ever

Well, I think I had the most stressful new year ever. Just to clarify, though, it wasn’t the company, it is the venue! Imagine, we went to celebrate the new year in MOA just because we want to. The thing is, we went there too late and without preparations: No reservations, no actual plan but to see the fireworks. So there we were overwhelmed to the multitude of people almost-stampeding their way through. There were just too many people and almost all the restaurants are fully booked. We were hungry, we were tired, we were sweaty. My faded lipstick will tell you what hell we have been through last night (My foundation and eye makeup were intact, and yes it is about the product!). Worst is for my friend J who brought her son with us just a day after having a fever! God, it was stressful and I promise to myself– as I told W– I won’t subject myself to such torture ever. Well, maybe I could, at least, make some reservations the next time.

We were able to get to the waitlist on one of the restaurants. We settled down, ordered food and drinks, and spent the next hour or so talking almost about anything. We thought it was over but going home was such a test of patience and of survival. It was raining, we have an almost sick two-year-old boy, there were no cabs, buses are full to the brim. Our phones ran out of batteries (We could have hailed an Uber, but my earlier browse through on my timeline would tell us that they cost a fortune and a kidney last night) God, it was stressful and I promise to myself– as I told W– I won’t subject myself to such torture ever. Well, maybe I could, at least, make some reservations the next time.

 

12373393_1041727495869629_1655244742142666204_n.jpg

New Year’s Eve 2015 with officemates. Photo by W. 

Nevertheless, we have successfully celebrated new year with food (It wasn’t that good, though) with lots of talks and chismis with the gang. We ended up spending the night at W’s studio and we woke up eating crispy pata for new year’s lunch. My new year could have been worst, but thanks to them, I still think it was  a good start.

***

2015 to me was when I learned how to slow down. Gone were the days when I was too impatient to move forward, to progress, thinking that what I have was already enough. 2015 taught me that there is serene beauty in enjoying what I currently have and in working very hard for the things I want to have. 2015 also gave me an idea about the things that I deserve and the things I simply wanted but I don’t deserve. 2015 was generally a good year for me. With that, I think I am getting excited for 2016.

 

Leave a Reply

